site en français

free parking

wheelchair access

Nutrition

What is the link between osteopathy and nutrition ?

What is the link between osteopathy and nutrition ? This is a common question that my patients ask during the treatment. Nowadays, people spend a lot of money and effort to take care about their outside look. But it is also important to keep in mind that our external appearance is a reflection of our internal aspect. It becomes clear essential nutriments that maintain our internal balance will also bring positive affects on our outside apearance. What we put into our system will be an outside picture for the other. The quality of these nutriments influence our balance, but also our physical and mental health.

So, giving nutrition advice is a helpful complement to help patients to deal with their present difficulties.

The medical community has been able to make people understand the dangers linked with junk food and all non-transmissible diseases (hypertension, diabetes, cardiovascular infarction, cancer…) that could be prevented with a better diet. However, it has also proven that an unhealthy diet can be responsible for chronic inflammation and so, the chronic pain that can lead to an osteopathic consultation.

Nutrition is linked with physical activity. In 2008, the Swiss Government published a report that warned the population against the potential danger of a lack of physical activity. They concluded that if we want to prevent these diseases, it is better for us to be overweight but fit, than slim but unfit… It is evident that every therapist should encourage patients to move more and more often in their daily routine.

website in english

parking gratuit

accÈs handicapÉs

Nutrition

Quel est le lien entre l'ostéopathie et la nutrition ?

C'est une question qui m'est très souvent posée par mes patients lors de consultations courantes en ostéopathie. Actuellement, chacun de nous se soucie beaucoup de son apparence externe. Nous sommes prêts à dépenser des sommes importantes pour conserver une image jeune. Néanmoins l'environnement externe est à l'image de notre environnement interne. Il devient donc évident que les nutriments qui sont à la base de notre équilibre interne sont eux aussi des éléments fondamentaux pour maintenir un équilibre qui se répercute sur notre image extérieure. Ce que nous mangeons et principalement la qualité des éléments que nous ingérons a des influences sur notre santé, notre forme physique, mais aussi notre forme psychique.

La nutrition est donc un complément essentiel pour une prise en charge holistique du patient.

En dehors des messages médicaux qui sont maintenant connus par le public sur le danger d'une mauvaise alimentation et le développement de maladies non transmissibles (diabète, hypertension artérielle, atteintes cardiovasculaire,…), certains abus alimentaires sont à la base de douleurs inflammatoires chroniques et donc sont potentiellement une source de plainte et de consultation.

Le danger principal dans la prise en charge de patients en surpoids vient plus par le fait d'être inactif sur le plan physique que par le surpoids en lui-même. Il vaut mieux être actif mais en surpoids qu'inactif mais d'un poids normal pour la prévention de ces mêmes maladies non transmissibles. Le but de l'ostéopathie est de réduire les restrictions de mobilité! Il devient donc intéressant de chercher à encourager les patients à toute activité augmentant sa mobilité quotidienne.